African Union — Morocco rejoins the African Union

January 2017 saw Morocco rejoin the African Union (AU) 33 years after it left the alliance. It was previously the only African country not belonging to the AU, having left in 1984 – when the union recognized the independence of Western Sahara, which Morocco occupies. 39 countries voted to allow Morocco to rejoin the AU, with nine voting against.